Woodworking Machinery industry portrait

EWD

Whether in the production of the highest quality kitchens in East Westphalia, or sawn timber in Vladivostok, in the construction of nine-storey wooden houses in London, or at the carpenter around the corner, woodworking machines "made in Germany" are always there: everywhere in the world.

Technology engineered in Germany is as much in demand worldwide as ever. In 2016, German companies with around 12,500 employees sold woodworking machines worth a total of around 3 billion euros. The lion's share, namely 70 percent, was accounted for by international markets. In global terms, Germany is by far the largest supplier to the wood and furniture industry.

Diverse and finely differentiated product range

No other nation offers such a diverse range of machines, plants and components as the German companies. Manufacturers supplement the finely differentiated standard range with system concepts and special solutions that they develop together with their customers. Starting with the hand circular saw, over the standard planing machine for the carpenter, over complex furniture production plants for the batch size one up to the complete conception of plants for the production of sawn timber, chipboards, laminate flooring, wood construction systems and wood fuels. The plant and engineering business is a domain of the German manufacturers in which they have an almost unique selling proposition.

Active worldwide: together with customers and partners

Around 72 percent of the total production of woodworking machinery, in some sectors even more than 90 percent, is exported. Deutsche Engineering Technology is a brand and stands for performance, productivity and quality not without reason. From a global perspective, these are probably still the three most important criteria for customers' purchasing decisions. German manufacturers are close to their customers. Most of the 200 or so medium-sized companies in the industry are strong and have a large network of sales offices and dealers.

People and the environment

People and the environment are therefore at the heart of the companies' research and development work. Innovations revolve to a large extent around topics such as resource efficiency but also noise and dust reduction, while maintaining or increasing the performance of tools, machines and systems. The focus is on the careful handling of the wonderful renewable material wood. Manufacturers are working on ever more sophisticated solutions to obtain even more efficient building products and furniture from this valuable raw material.

Materials and processes

Architecture and design are subject to constantly changing requirements, such as lightweight construction, the combination of a wide variety of materials, innovative surface coatings or new types of timber construction, which manufacturers of machines and systems integrate into their development projects. A new lightweight panel, for example, demands completely unknown technical solutions in the manufacturing process. The pressure to rationalise, for example in sawn timber or furniture production, due to significantly rising material costs for wood and adhesives as well as the lack of qualified specialist personnel, also repeatedly leads to innovative processes that accelerate production and ultimately save costs for the customer.

Leading trade fairs

The latest technical trends can be seen every two years at LIGNA Hannover. Many companies gear their research and development work to the LIGNA trade fair cycle. This is why the trade fair is not only the number one international meeting place in the industry, but also a driving force for innovation. The dimensions of the Ligna are enormous. On over 120,000m² in halls and open-air grounds, around 1,600 exhibitors from over fifty countries will be presenting woodworking machines to touch. The fair is not only the number one for the wood and furniture industry, but also the world's largest fair when it comes to energy from wood. The fair is a must for decision-makers from all over the world and at the same time an incomparable experience for every visitor.

The VDMA and its member companies, together with their partners from Messe Nürnberg, will also be offering a special industry highlight for their trade customers in the Ligna free year. In the even years, the woodworking trade is the meeting place for carpenters and joiners in Central Europe. With almost 30,000m² and around 40,000 visitors from Germany and abroad, the trade fair is one of the top five industry meeting places worldwide.

Branchenportrait Holzbearbeitungsmaschinen

EWD

Ob bei der Produktion von hochwertigsten Küchen in Ostwestfalen, oder Schnittholz in Wladiwostok, beim Bau von neun-geschossigen Holzhäusern in London, oder beim Schreiner um die Ecke, Holzbearbeitungsmaschinen "made in Germany" sind immer dabei: überall auf der Welt.

Technik engineered in Germany ist weltweit gefragt wie eh und je. 2016 haben die deutschen Unternehmen mit rund 12.500 Beschäftigten Holzbearbeitungsmaschinen im Wert von insgesamt rund 3 Milliarden Euro abgesetzt. Der Löwenanteil, nämlich 70 Prozent entfiel davon auf internationale Märkte. Weltweit gesehen ist Deutschland somit der mit Abstand größte Ausrüster der Holz- und Möbelindustrie.

Vielfältiges und fein differenziertes Angebot

Keine andere Nation bietet ein so vielfältiges Angebot an Maschinen, Anlagen und Komponenten wie die deutschen Unternehmen. Das fein differenzierte Standardangebot ergänzen die Hersteller durch Systemkonzepte und Sonderlösungen, die sie gemeinsam mit ihren Kunden entwickeln. Angefangen bei der Handkreissäge, über die Standardhobelmaschine für den Schreiner, über komplexe Möbelfertigungsanlagen für die Losgröße eins bis hin zur Gesamtkonzeption von Anlagen für die Erzeugung von Schnittholz, Spanplatten, Laminatfussböden, Holzbaussystemen und Holzbrennstoffe. Das Anlagen- und Engineeringgeschäft ist eine Domäne der deutschen Hersteller bei dem sie annähernd ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal haben.

Weltweit aktiv: gemeinsam mit Kunden und Partnern

Rund 72 Prozent der Gesamtproduktion von Holzbearbeitungsmaschinenmaschinen, in manchen Sparten, wie bei den Holzwerkstoffanlagen sogar über 90 Prozent, gehen in den Export. Deutsche Engineering Technology ist eine Marke und steht nicht ohne Grund für Leistung, Produktivität und Qualität. Diese sind weltweit gesehen wohl immer noch die drei wichtigsten Kriterien für die Kaufentscheidung der Kunden. Die deutschen Hersteller sind nahe an ihren Kunden. Die meisten der rund 200 fast durchweg mittelständischen Unternehmen der Branche sind stark aufgestellt und verfügen heute über ein großes Netz an Vertriebsniederlassungen und Händlern.

Mensch und Umwelt 

Mensch und Umwelt stehen deshalb im Zentrum der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit der Unternehmen. Innovationen drehen sich in hohem Maße um Themen wie Ressourceneffizienz aber auch Lärm- und Staubreduzierung; und das bei gleichzeitiger Beibehaltung oder Steigerung der Leistung der Werkzeuge, Maschinen und Anlagen. Der sorgsame Umgang mit dem wunderbaren nachwachsenden Werkstoff Holz steht im Mittelpunkt. Die Hersteller arbeiten an immer ausgefeilteren Lösungen, um noch effizienter Bauprodukte und Möbel aus dem wertvollen Rohstoff zu gewinnen.

Material und Verfahren

Aus der Architektur und dem Design kommen sich ständig ändernde Anforderungen, wie der Leichtbau, die Kombination unterschiedlichster Materialien, innovative Oberflächenbeschichtungen oder neuartige Holzbauweisen die die Hersteller von Maschinen und Anlagen in ihre Entwicklungsvorhaben integrieren. So fordert eine neue Leichtbauplatte nach bisher gänzlich unbekannten technischen Lösungen im Herstellungsprozess. Der Rationalisierungsdruck zum Beispiel in den Schnittholz- oder Möbelproduktionen, aufgrund deutlich steigenden Materialkosten für Holz und Klebstoffe sowie der Mangel an qualifiziertem Fachpersonal sorgt darüber hinaus immer wieder für innovative Verfahren, die produktionsbeschleunigend sind und damit dem Kunden letztlich Kosten sparen.

Leitmessen

Die aktuellsten technischen Trends gibt es alle zwei Jahre auf der LIGNA Hannover zu sehen. Viele Unternehmen richten ihre Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten am Messezyklus der Ligna aus. Deshalb gilt die Messe in der Branche nicht nur als internationaler Treffpunkt Nummer eins, sondern auch als Innovationsmotor. Die Dimensionen der Ligna sind gewaltig. Auf über 120.000m² in Hallen und Freigelände zeigen rund 1.600 Aussteller aus über fünfzig Ländern Holzbearbeitungsmaschinen zum Anfassen. Die Messe ist nicht nur die Nummer eins für die Holz- und Möbelindustrie, sondern auch die weltgrößte Messe wenn es um das Thema Energie aus Holz geht. Die Messe ist ein Muss für Entscheider aus aller Welt und zugleich ein unvergleichbares Erlebnis für jeden Besucher.

Auch speziell für seine Handwerkskunden bietet der VDMA und seine Mitgliedsfirmen gemeinsam mit den Partnern von der Messe Nürnberg alterniered im Ligna freien Jahr ein Branchenhighlight. Die Holz-Handwerk ist in den geraden Jahren der Treffpunkt für den Tischler und Schreiner in Zentraleuropa. Mit knapp 30.000m² und rund 40.000 Besuchern aus dem In- und Ausland zählt die Messe zu den zu den Top fünf Branchentreffpunkten weltweit.